تأثير البرودة الشديدة: انخفاض حرارة الجسم

تأثير البرودة الشديدة: انخفاض حرارة الجسم

يعتبر التعرض للبرد المفرط خطيرًا مثل التعرض للحرارة المفرطة، وانخفاض درجة حرارة الجسم هي أكثر عواقبه خطورة. أعراض التعرض المفرط للبرد تتمثل في الإحساس بالتعب، وخدر، والقشعريرة، وظهور تقلصات لا إرادية على مستوى العضلات، ووخز وألم في الأطراف. ومع ذلك من السهل تجنب أضرار البرد.

انخفاض حرارة الجسم

نتكلم عن انخفاض درجة حرارة الجسم في الحالة التي تنزل فيها درجة حرارة الجسم عن المؤشر المعتاد، وتحصل عندما يفقد الجسم حرارته بشكل أسرع مما ينتجها. يصنف الطب انخفاض درجة حرارة الجسم إلى خفيفة وشديدة.

انخفاض خفيف لدرجة حرارة الجسم

يحدث انخفاض درجة حرارة الجسم الخفيف عندما تنزل درجة حرارة الجسم تحت 37 درجة. فنلاحظ تسارعا في التنفس والنبض، الإرتجاف، برودة اليدين والقدمين. العلامات الأولى تتمثل في الإحساس بالتعب، والتهيج، وتغير اللغة أو السلوك، وبداية التشنجات غير الإرادية. يجب تحفيز المصابين على الحركة من أجل توليد الحرارة العضلية. كما يجب عليهم الإبتعاد عن الرياح والأمطار، وتغيير ملابسهم المبتلة بأخرى جافة. يجب أن يتناولوا مشروبات ساخنة ويحافظوا على أجسامهم دافئة، خاصة الفخذين والرأس والرقبة والصدر.

انخفاض شديد لدرجة حرارة الجسم

يحدث انخفاض شديد لدرجة حرارة الجسم عندما تنزل درجة حرارة الجسم تحت 33 درجة. في هذه الحالة، يكون وضع المصاب أكثر خطورة. إذ لم يعد يشعر بالقشعريرة أو الإرتعاش، تبدأ العضلات في التصلب وتتحول شفاهه إلى اللون الأزرق. يتباطأ النبض والتنفس تدريجيا، وتبدأ مشاعر الارتباك واللامبالاة في الظهور متبوعة بالنعاس، ثم فقدان الوعي وفي النهاية الغيبوبة. عند نزول حرارة الجسم إلى أقل من 30 درجة، يستحيل الحصول على علامات حيوية وتبدو الضحية ميتة: بؤبؤ العين ثابت ومتوسع، ولا يمكن الإحساس بالنبض، والتنفس ضعيف جدا، وقد تتسبب هذه الحالة في فشل القلب، فيحدث الموت في أي لحظة. إيصال الضحية للمستشفى على الفور مسألة حياتية. في انتظار المساعدة، قم بالتالي: إحمل المصاب بحرص إلى مكان محمي من البرد وغطيه ببطانيات سميكة. يجب أرفع الحرارة بالتدريج (إلباسه ملابسا جافة، استخدام مصادر حرارة إضافية …)، ومع ذلك ، في هذه الحالة بالذات لا يجب فرك أطراف الجسم، أو تعريض المصاب لمصدر مباشر للحرارة، أو محاولة إعطائه مشروبات ساخنة التي من شأنها أن تؤدي إلى ارتفاع درجة الحرارة الداخلية للجسم بسرعة كبيرة جدًا، الشيء الذي قد يتسبب في عواقب وخيمة. يجب الإتصال بالإسعاف على الفور.

قضمة الصقيع

تؤثر قضمة الصقيع على أطراف الجسم (القدمين واليدين) والأذنين والأنف والخدين. قد تكون قضمة الصقيع خطيرة للغاية وتؤدي إلى بتر أجزاء الجسم المتأثرة بها أو تسبب آثارًا خطيرة أخرى. عوارض قضمة الصقيع تتمثل في الفقدان التدريجي للشعور، أو الإحساس بالخدر، وفقدان لون البشرة الذي يصبح باهتا، أو قد يميل للون الأزرق في المناطق المتضررة. في هذه الحالة، يجب تدفئة المناطق المصابة ببطء وبشكل مستمر، بالإضافة إلى باقي الجسم تدريجيا لتجنب الاختلافات الكبيرة في درجات الحرارة. على سبيل المثال، لا تضع طرفًا مجمدًا في ماء ساخن جدًا أو تعرضه إلى لهب النار. ولا تفرك أبدًا أو تضغط على مناطق الصقيع.

The Effect of Extreme Cold: hypothermia

The Effect of Extreme Cold: hypothermia

Exposure to excessive cold is as dangerous as exposure to excessive heat, with frostbite and hypothermia (a drop in body temperature) the most serious consequences. To a lesser degree, fatigue, numbness, chills, muscular cramps, tingling and aching are also symptoms of overexposure to the cold. They are nevertheless easy to avoid.

Hypothermia

Hypothermia is a state during which the body’s temperature drops because the body loses heat faster than it produces it. There are two stages of hypothermia - mild and severe.

Mild hypothermia

Mild hypothermia occurs when the body temperature drops below 37° Celsius. Breathing and pulse accelerate; shivering increases, the hands and feet are white and cold. The first signs of someone with mild hypothermia are fatigue, shivering, irritability, and inappropriate language or behaviour. These victims must be encouraged to move around in order to generate muscle warmth. They must stay out of the wind and rain, and all wet clothing should be replaced with dry articles. Give them hot drinks and and keep them warm, insisting particularly on the thighs, the head, neck and thorax.

Severe hypothermia

Severe hypothermia occurs when the body temperature falls below 33° Celsius. In this case, the situation is much more serious. The victim no longer feels any chills or shivering, the muscles begin to stiffen and the person’s lips and extremities turn blue. Pulse and breathing gradually slow down; feelings of confusion and indifference begin to manifest, followed by drowsiness, then loss of consciousness and eventually a coma. At less than 30° Celsius, the vital signs can no longer be detected and the victim appears dead: the pupils are fixed and dilated, the pulse cannot be detected, breathing is very weak and heart failure can cause death to occur at any moment. All victims of severe hypothermia must be hospitalized immediately. While waiting for emergency assistance, take care of the victim: cover him/her with thick blankets and carefully carry the person to a place protected from the cold. Warming the victim must happen gradually (dry clothes, additional sources of heat in the room…); however, in this particular case, do not rub the body’s extremities, expose the victim to a direct source of heat, or administer hot drinks that will cause the body’s internal temperature to rise too quickly and could be very dangerous for someone who appears to have lost consciousness. As always, it is absolutely critical to call the Fire Department or the Ambulance Services immediately.

Frostbite

Frostbite affects the body’s extremities (feet and hands), ears, nose and cheeks. Frostbite can be extremely serious and lead to amputation of those affected body parts or cause serious after-effects. A gradual loss of feeling, numbness or dullness, a pale colour or a turning blue of the effected areas are all warning signs. In this case, slowly and continually heat the affected areas, as well as the rest of the body, but avoid significant differences in temperature. For example, do not put a frozen extremity in very hot water or expose it to a flame. And never rub, tap or hit the frostbitten areas.